General terms and conditions

LICENSING TERMS & CONDITIONS PARISIENNE DE PHOTOGRAPHIE - ROGER-VIOLLET


SPL Parisienne de Photographie operates as a photographic agency specializing in the management and distribution of historical and artistic photographic collections under commercial brand Roger-Viollet.

Therefore the name “Roger-Viollet” used in the following terms and conditions means the photographic agency department of SPL Parisienne de Photographie.

These Licensing Terms & Conditions (“LTC”) govern the conditions under which Roger-Viollet grants its customers, hereinafter referred to as the "Licensee", the right to reproduce or represent photographs from its collection and from those of its partners.

Viewing, using or acquiring exploitation rights to one of the photographs in the Roger-Viollet collection shall constitute acceptance of the LTC without any reservations and compliance with all the stipulations hereof.

Roger-Viollet's standard LTC shall unconditionally prevail over the Licensee's standard terms and conditions and over any other professional code of practice (code des usages) as regards photographic illustrations. If the Licensee does not accept one or more of the stipulations contained in the LTC or if these stipulations contradict its own standard terms and conditions, the Licensee shall refrain from using this service or the content thereof which is made available to him.

Terms of Licensing of Images


Pursuant hereto, the Licensee is only granted a limited right to reproduce, represent or draw inspiration from Roger-Viollet's photographic images. This license is granted for a limited use as defined on the back of the delivery form. Under no circumstances shall the Licensee gain material ownership of the documents sent to it by Roger-Viollet regardless of the medium used (paper, film, conventional prints or digital).

The images [to which rights are] granted by Roger-Viollet pursuant hereto are granted for the use stated on the quotation which has been accepted by the Licensee, a specific bilateral agreement or the invoice issued by Roger-Viollet. Any other use or re-use of the photographic images [to which rights are] granted shall be the subject of a further agreement which may or may not be followed by an additional invoice.

No refund will be issued on invoices or payments made in advance of publication, regardless of the actual use of the Images. Should the actual use of the Images differ from the one specified in the accepted quote or invoice (higher print run, larger format or n° of images used, etc…), an additional invoice will be issued.

The Licensee undertakes to provide proof of the use of each of Roger-Viollet's photographic documents. Each use or re-use of the photographic images that are the subject hereof shall be the subject of payment of fees whose amount shall be set by Roger-Viollet.

The Licensee undertakes to comply with any restrictions on the use of the photographic images. Any use for advertising purposes or for the purpose of political propaganda or sensitive social issues without Roger-Viollet's prior agreement in writing is prohibited.

Photographic images that are placed online by the Licensee for their use in the context of a website shall be shown in low resolution (no more than 650 x 650 pixels in 72 dpi). Use of the photographic images on social networks without Roger-Viollet's prior agreement in writing is prohibited and, when such agreement is in place, the use of the specific format provided by Roger-Viollet is mandatory.

Protection of works, property or individuals represented


Photographic images may be encumbered by a literary and artistic property right or by an industrial property right, or related rights, a right as regards personality, a moral right, right of property or other rights that belong to a third party. Unless otherwise stated, the exploitation license granted by Roger-Viollet never includes authorisations relating to the exploitation of the fruits of mental activity, trademarks, the image of individuals and moveable or immovable property represented in the photographic images.

The Licensee alone shall be responsible for obtaining the necessary authorisations and for negotiating as regards the rights relating to works, property or individuals represented in the photographic images from or with their beneficiaries. As a result, the Licensee shall hold Roger-Viollet harmless against any recourse or dispute relating to obtaining these rights and shall also hold Roger-Viollet harmless against any order which may be handed down against it [by a court] in this respect.

Terms of Use of the Images


The Images are copyrighted works protected by intellectual property law. Under French law and international conventions no violation can be brought against the integrity or authorship of a work. A photographic image may not be used in a way that causes harm to the integrity or the reputation of its author nor should any use misrepresent the image or, as regards news images, distort the meaning thereof.

Accordingly, the Licensee agrees not to make any changes in the Images (significant cropping / re-framing, trimming, editing, montage of several photographs, colorizing, etc.) likely to affect the author's moral rights. The Licensee is solely responsible for the conditions under which it uses the Images, particularly by re-captioning them, associating them with other photos or any text or image of choice or proceeding, without the prior written consent of Roger-Viollet, their modification or their crop, and the Licensee agrees to hold free Roger-Viollet against any claims concerning such uses.

Credit line


The credit line must accompany each of the reproductions or representations of the photographic images. This generally consists of the name of the photographer or of the partner collection followed by Roger-Viollet’s name.

The credit line must be placed next to the image reproduced or in the table of illustrations provided for that purpose, clearly stating the page or the place where the image is reproduced. Equally, the credit line must also be included in the credits of audiovisual or multimedia works that contain photographic images that are the subject hereof.

To use the photographic images in an electronic product/service such as a website, CD-Rom or Intranet, the Licensee undertakes to include the following words "All rights reserved. Roger-Viollet Agency" on every page which contains a Roger-Viollet photographic image.

In the event of a breach of these provisions, the fees owed to Roger-Viollet for the use in question shall automatically be tripled.

Transmission & storage of the Images


Transmission of photographic images in any form whatsoever, shall not entail the authorisation to use, reproduce, represent or draw on them for inspiration.

The delivery of the digital files of the images may be subject to invoicing of technical expenses separately from the fee for using the photographic images.

Without Roger-Viollet’s prior written consent, the Licensee expressly agrees not to establish a physical or digital database from the Images transmitted by digital means by Roger-Viollet or downloaded from the website. The Licensee is not allowed to keep the Images transmitted by Roger-Viollet or downloaded from the Roger-Viollet website in an archive on any medium whatsoever, for more than seven days after their actual use. The Licensee undertakes therefore to destroy the digital files, or, where appropriate, to return any digital or silver document (selections of Images on CD) belonging to Roger-Viollet upon expiration of that period. Additionally, it is mandatory to provide photo credit and the source of the file during the temporary storage by the Licensee.

Interruption of distribution


Roger-Viollet may cease distribution of some photographers, collections or individual images, without notice and without explanation, without the Licensee being able to claim any compensation as a result.

In this case, and as soon as the notification by Roger-Viollet to cease using the images is received, the Licensee shall immediately stop using the images and delete all copies he may still retain in his possession.

Proof of Use


Proof of the use of the photographic images must be sent to Roger-Viollet within 15 days as from the date they appear or are published. After this period, the fee for using the images shall be doubled and the Licensee shall be invoiced without notice. In the event that Roger-Viollet discovers unreported use of its Images, the fees owed shall be quadrupled.

If the fees owed to Roger-Viollet are not paid or in the event the Licensee uses the photographic images in breach of Roger-Viollet's rights and in particular without informing Roger-Viollet thereof, Roger-Viollet reserves the right to obtain compensation for the damage it may have sustained by all legal mean.

Invoicing & payment


Invoices must be paid 30 days after the date the invoice was issued or on the date specified on the invoice if this is sooner. Any invoice which has not been paid within this 30-day period shall automatically be increased by late-payment interest equal to three times the French legal interest rate.

In the event that the Licensee is not regularly meeting his payment obligation and after a warning remaining without effect for a maximum of 8 days, Roger-Viollet reserves the right to suspend any provision of documents exclusively at the fault of the Licensee.

Late payment penalty


According to French law n°2012-387 of 22 March 2012, a late payment penalty of € 40 will be applied for any payment delay in addition to any late-payment interest accrued as per above.

Miscellaneous provisions


These Licensing Terms & Conditions contain all the agreements that have been made by the parties and render null and void any other previous agreement, declaration of intent, promise or document exchanged between the parties and relating to these stipulations. The fact that one party fails to demand fulfilment of a provision hereof shall not entail the waiver of the benefit of such clause.

If one of the provisions of these standard terms and conditions of assignment is declared null and void, the parties agree that the other provisions shall remain in effect and shall retain all their effects in respect to said parties.

Language


In the event of a contradiction between the original version of the Licensing Terms & Conditions in French (Conditions Générales de Cession) and its translation into English, the French version shall prevail.

Governing Law and Jurisdiction


These Licensing Terms & Conditions are governed by French law to the exclusion of all others.

IN THE EVENT OF A DISPUTE THAT MAY ARISE REGARDING THE FORMATION, INTERPRETATION OR PERFORMANCE OF THESE STANDARD TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF ASSIGNMENT, THE PARTIES GRANT JURISDICTION TO THE COURTS OF PARIS WHICH SHALL HAVE EXCLUSIVE JURISDICTION EVEN IF THERE IS MORE THAN ONE DEFENDANT OR IF A THIRD PARTY IS JOINED TO THE PROCEEDINGS AND EVEN IN THE CASE OF SUMMARY PROCEEDINGS.

Conditions générales de vente

CONDITIONS GÉNÉRALES DE CESSION PARISIENNE DE PHOTOGRAPHIE - ROGER-VIOLLET


La SPL Parisienne de Photographie, exerce une activité de diffusion de fonds iconographiques sous la marque Roger-Viollet.

Le terme « Roger-Viollet » utilisé dans la suite des présentes Conditions générales de cession désigne le département d’agence photographique de la Parisienne de Photographie.

Les présentes conditions générales de cession, ci-après désignées « CGC » régissent les conditions dans lesquelles Roger-Viollet concède à ses clients, chaque client étant ci-après désigné le « Cessionnaire », le droit de reproduire ou de représenter les photographies de son fonds et de ses partenaires, ci-après désignées « les Images ».

Le seul fait de visualiser, d’utiliser ou d’acquérir les droits d’exploitation sur l’une des Images, implique l’acceptation sans réserve et le respect de toutes les stipulations des présentes CGC.

Les CGC de Roger-Viollet priment sans réserve sur les conditions générales du Cessionnaire et de tout autre code en matière d’illustration photographique. Dans l’hypothèse où le Cessionnaire n’accepterait pas une ou plusieurs stipulations contenues dans les CGC ou que ces stipulations seraient en contradiction avec ses propres conditions générales, alors il appartiendra au Cessionnaire de s’abstenir d’utiliser ce service et les contenus qui sont mis à sa disposition.



Conditions de cessions des Images :


En application des présentes, seul est concédé au Cessionnaire un droit limité de reproduire, de représenter ou de s’inspirer des Images de Roger-Viollet. Cette licence est consentie pour un usage limité tel que défini au recto du bordereau de facturation. En aucun cas le Cessionnaire n’acquiert la propriété matérielle des documents qui lui sont transmis par Roger-Viollet et ce, quel que soit le support (papier, film, support argentique ou fichier numérique) utilisé.

Les images concédées par Roger-Viollet en application des présentes le sont pour l’usage tel que mentionné sur le devis qui a été accepté par le Cessionnaire, précisées dans le cadre d’un accord bilatéral spécifique ou sur la facture émise par Roger-Viollet. Toute autre utilisation ou réutilisation des Images concédées fera l’objet d’un nouvel accord suivi ou non d’une facturation complémentaire. Le Cessionnaire s’engage à justifier de l’utilisation de chacune des Images. Chaque utilisation ou réutilisation des Images fera l’objet d’un paiement de droits dont le montant est fixé par Roger-Viollet.

En cas de facturation avant publication et/ou règlement d'une avance, le montant initialement facturé restera dû quelle que soit l'utilisation finale des images. En cas d'utilisation par le Cessionnaire non conforme au devis ou à la facturation initiale (dépassement de tranche, format supérieur, images additionnelles, etc…), une facture complémentaire sera émise.

Le Cessionnaire s’engage à respecter les restrictions d’utilisation éventuelles qui accompagnent les Images. Toute utilisation publicitaire ou à des fins de propagande politique ou pour des sujets de société sensibles est interdite sans l’accord préalable écrit de Roger-Viollet.

Les Images qui seront mises en ligne par le Cessionnaire pour leur exploitation dans le cadre de l’édition d’un site Web devront être diffusées en basse résolution (650 x 650 pixels, 72 DPI maximum).

La reproduction des images sur réseaux sociaux est interdite sans l’accord préalable écrit de Roger-Viollet et en cas d’accord uniquement en utilisant le format d’image spécifique fourni par Roger-Viollet.



Protection des œuvres, biens ou personnes représentés


Les Images peuvent être grevées d’un droit de propriété littéraire et artistique ou d’un droit de propriété industrielle, d’un droit voisin, d’un droit de la personnalité, d’un droit moral, d’un droit de propriété ou autres droits appartenant à un tiers. Sauf stipulation contraire, la licence d’exploitation concédée par Roger-Viollet n’inclut jamais les autorisations relatives à l’exploitation d’œuvres de l’esprit, de marques, de l’image des personnes et des biens immeubles ou meubles représentés sur les Images.

Le Cessionnaire est seul responsable de l’obtention des autorisations nécessaires et de la négociation des droits relatifs aux œuvres, biens ou personnes représentés sur les Images auprès de leurs ayants droits. En conséquence, le Cessionnaire garantit Roger-Viollet contre tout recours ou contestation relatif à l’obtention des ces droits et garantit, à ce titre, Roger-Viollet contre toute condamnation qui pourrait être prononcée à son encontre.



Conditions d’utilisation des Images


Les Images sont des œuvres protégées par le droit de la propriété intellectuelle. En application du droit français et des conventions internationales aucune atteinte ne peut être portée à l’intégrité ni à la paternité d’une œuvre. Aucune exploitation d’une Image ne doit avoir pour conséquence de porter atteinte à l’honneur et la réputation de son auteur mais également ne doit pas la dénaturer et, s’agissant d’une image d’actualité, la détourner de sa signification.

Le Cessionnaire est seul responsable des conditions dans lesquelles il exploite les Images notamment en les re-légendant, en les associant avec d’autres photographies ou tout texte ou image de son choix ou en procédant, sans avoir obtenu l’accord préalable et écrit de Roger-Viollet, à leur modification (recadrage significatif, détourage, retouche, montage de plusieurs photographies, colorisation, etc.) et le Cessionnaire s’engage à tenir Roger-Viollet indemne contre tout recours relatif à de telles exploitations.



Crédit photographique


La mention du crédit photographique est obligatoire sur chacune des reproductions ou représentations des Images. Il est composé généralement du nom du photographe ou de la collection partenaire suivi du nom de Roger-Viollet.

Le crédit photographique doit être apposé soit au regard de l’image reproduite soit dans la table d’illustration prévue à cet effet en indiquant clairement la page ou l’endroit où ladite image est reproduite. De même, cette mention doit également être inscrite au générique des œuvres audiovisuelles ou multimédia incorporant des images photographiques objet des présentes.

Pour l’utilisation des Images dans un produit/service électronique de type site Web, CD-R, Intranet, le Cessionnaire s’engage à faire figurer sur chaque page où apparaît une Image la mention suivante « Tous droits réservés à Roger-Viollet ».

En cas de non-respect des présentes dispositions, les droits dus à Roger-Viollet au titre de l’exploitation considérée seront automatiquement triplés.



Transmission et Stockage des Images


La transmission des Images au Cessionnaire, sous quelque forme que ce soit n’implique pas l’autorisation d’utilisation, de reproduction, de représentation ou d’inspiration.

La transmission pourra faire l’objet d’une facturation de frais techniques, indépendamment des droits d’exploitation des Images.

Sauf accord préalable écrit de Roger-Viollet, le Cessionnaire s’interdit formellement de constituer une base de données physique ou numérique à partir des Images transmises par Roger-Viollet. Le Cessionnaire n’est pas autorisé à conserver en archive, sur quelque support que ce soit, les Images transmises par Roger-Viollet ou téléchargées sur le site internet de Roger-Viollet au-delà de sept jours à compter de leur utilisation effective. Le Cessionnaire s’engage en conséquence à détruire les fichiers numériques, ou, le cas échéant, à retourner tout document argentique ou numérique (sélections d’Images sur CD) appartenant à Roger-Viollet dès l’expiration de ce délai. En outre, est obligatoire de faire figurer le crédit photographique et la source du fichier pendant son stockage temporaire par le Cessionnaire.



Interruption de diffusion


Roger-Viollet peut interrompre sans préavis et sans justification la diffusion de certains photographes, de certaines collections ou de certaines photographies, sans que le Cessionnaire ne puisse se prévaloir d’une quelconque indemnité de ce fait.

Dans ce cas et dès réception de l’information transmise par Roger-Viollet, le Cessionnaire cessera immédiatement d’utiliser ces images et supprimera toutes les copies des images en question qu’il pourrait détenir.



Justificatif d’exploitation


Les justificatifs d’exploitation des Images doivent être envoyés à Roger-Viollet dans un délai de quinze jours à compter de la date de parution ou de publication. Passé ce délai, les droits d’exploitation seront doublés et facturés au Cessionnaire sans préavis. Dans le cas de parution non déclarée découverte par Roger-Viollet, les droits dus seront quadruplés.

En l’absence de paiement des droits dus à Roger-Viollet ou en cas d’exploitation par le Cessionnaire des Images en violation des droits de Roger-Viollet et notamment sans en informer Roger-Viollet, Roger-Viollet se réserve le droit d’obtenir réparation des préjudices qu’elle pourrait avoir subis par tous les moyens de droit.



Facturation


Les factures sont payables à trente jours date d’émission de la facture ou à la date qui est spécifiée sur la facture si celle-ci est plus proche. Toute facture restée impayée au-delà de ce délai de trente jours sera automatiquement majorée d’un intérêt de retard égal à trois fois le taux d’intérêt légal français.

Dans l’hypothèse où le Cessionnaire ne s’acquitterait pas régulièrement de son obligation de paiement et après une mise en demeure restée sans effet dans un délai maximum de 8 jours, Roger-Viollet se réserve le droit de suspendre toute fourniture de documents aux torts exclusifs du Cessionnaire.



Indemnité de Frais de recouvrement


Conformément à la loi n°2012-387 du 22 mars 2012 relative à la simplification du droit et à l’allègement des démarches administratives, tout client en situation de retard de paiement sera de plein droit débiteur, à l’égard de Roger-Viollet, d’une indemnité forfaitaire pour frais de recouvrement fixée à 40 euros.



Dispositions diverses


Les présentes CGC comportent l’intégralité des conventions intervenues entre les parties et rendent caduc tout autre accord, déclaration d’intention, promesse ou document antérieur échangé entre les parties et relatif aux présentes stipulations. Le fait pour une partie de ne pas se prévaloir d’une disposition des présentes n’emporte aucunement renonciation au bénéfice de ladite clause.

Dans l’hypothèse où l’une des dispositions des présentes CGC serait déclarée nulle, les parties conviennent que les autres demeureront en vigueur et conserveront leur plein effet à leur égard.



Loi applicable et attribution de juridiction


Les présentes CGC sont régies par la loi française à l’exclusion de toute autre.

Pour toute contestation pouvant s’élever au sujet de la formation, de l’interprétation ou de l’exécution des présentes CGC, les parties font attribution de compétence aux Tribunaux de PARIS qui seront seuls compétents nonobstant pluralité de défendeurs ou appels en garantie, et ce, même en cas de référé.